skip navigation

Brighton Boys Win BCHL Championship

By Craig Peterson, 04/24/19, 9:15PM EDT


A pair of former Bulldogs help Prince George to Fred Page Cup

The Prince George Spruce Kings won the 2019 Fred Page Cup as champions of the BCHL last week, thanks in part to the efforts of not one, but two Brighton alumni in defenseman Jay Keranen (2016) and goalie Logan Neaton (2017).  The Kings swept the Vernon Vipers in four games, completing a playoff run in which they lost just one first-round series game, going 16-1 through the BCHL playoffs.

Committed to play for NCAA UMass-Lowell next season, Neaton posted a 1.46 goals-against average and .940 save percentage in the playoffs, appearing in all 17 of the Spruce Kings' postseason games.

Keranen chipped in a goal and four assists from the blue line during the Kings' playoff run. His third season of junior hockey and second in the BCHL,  Keranen was also part of the playoff run last season in which Prince George came up just short in the 2018 championship against Wenatchee.

Two other Michigan natives were also a part of Prince George's championship team this seeason, including former Marquette Redmen and NCAA Lake Superior State commit Spencer DenBeste (2017).