skip navigation

Cranbrook Kingswood Most Recent Game

Team Info

  • Nickname:
  • Team Colors:
  • Current Coach:
    • Email
  • State Championships:
  • State Runner-ups:
  • Final Four Appearances:
  • Regional Championships:

Michigan Interscholastic Hockey League Standings

NFHS Network

Watch all the CK Hockey action on the NFHS Network linked above.

Sponsored by Little Ceasers

Little Ceasers

Visit Website
Sponsored by Kerby's Koney Island

Kerby's Koney Island

Visit Website
Sponsored by Lululemon


Visit Website

1979, 1983, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1991, 1997, 2000, 2001, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2013, 2015, 2021

From the early beginnings, the mid 1930’s, to the inaugural season as a sanctioned sport by the MHSAA (1979) until today, there has been a constant theme at Cranbrook – High School Hockey would be part of the Athletic Department and it would be a successful program.

Since 1979 Cranbrook earned 18 MHSAA State Hockey Titles – more than any other school in Michigan.

Cranbrook currently competes in Division III of the MHSAA State Tournament and is a member of the Michigan Interscholastic Hockey League. 

In the summer of 1993, Cranbrook hired Andrew (Andy) C. Weidenbach to take over the hockey program.  It was a pivotal point in Cranbrook hockey: the team was once again returned to its position as one of the most successful and respected high school hockey programs.

Andy modeled the Cranbrook team after the many successful junior teams he produced in the North American Junior Hockey League (NAJHL) and the Ontario Hockey League (OHL).  He established the following philosophy for the hockey program:

Team Philosophy

The philosophy of the Cranbrook Kingswood Varsity Hockey Team is to teach the student athletes the fundamentals of hockey and instill in them the attributes necessary to achieve success.  These attributes are responsibility and accountability for one’s actions, discipline, dedication to team goals and respect for coaches, teammates and opponents.

This Philosophy has resulted in tremendous success for the team and the individual players:

MHSAA State Championships in 1997, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2013, and 2015

MHSAA State Finalist in 1996 and 1998

18 Regional Championships

After the 2018-2019 season Andy retired leaving the team in the more then capable hands of Coach John LaFontaine. John has coached many teams at a range of levels including the NAHL, AWHL, USHL, and AAA at Shattuck St. Marys. He has found great success already at Cranbrook by winning his first MHSAA State Title in just 2 years as the head coach, as well as receiving the MHCSA Hockey Coach of the Year award in 2021. John looks to keep moving the team forward and continuing Cranbrook's winning legacy.


Over 100 Cranbrook Players have received All State Recognition from the Michigan High School Hockey Coaches Association (MHSHCA)

MHSHCA Dream Team Selections


1996 Raffie Kalajian 
1997 Josh Allison
1998 Del deWindt
2000 Jared Allison
2004 Chad Langlais, Chase Langlais,  and Andy Chima 
2005 Chase Langlais       
2007 Andrew Miller
2010 Patrick Brown
2014 Christopher Brown 
2015 Austin Alger  
2021 Leyton Stenman

MHSHCA Mr. Hockey

2001 Johnny Kim
2002 Will Wallace
2005 Chase Langlais
2007 Andrew Miller
2015 Austin Alger

MHSHCA Academic All State Teams Minimum Requirement - 3.00 Team GPA

2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2020, and 2021

MHSHCA Academic All State Minimum Requirement - 3.50 Cumulative GPA

1996 Mike Keough Brian Wills
2003 Drew Schmale
2004 Andy Chima Nick Budzyn Matt Robins Elliot Vilders
2006 Jake Finnicum
2007 Brett Brazier Ryan McClure Zach Hansen
2008 Sean Collon* Jimmy Foster Jacob Friedman Peter Baumhart 
2009 Adam Wells Shota Hotta
2010 Kevin Collon* John Stockman Alex Lowenstein
2011 Nick Carrothers Ryan Doucet Roman Yanke Jon Winegarden
2013 Andrew DeClerck Jeff Martin
2014 Tristan Neeb Kenny Stamper
2015 Austin Movinski Blake Rogow Jack Blumberg John Wagner
2016 Michael Wilson Cole Adaskaveg Brendan Seppey
2017 Charles O'Leary
2018 Conor Heckman Drake Bradshaw Zach Felsenfeld Stepan Topouzian Hugh Lambert

* Highest in the State


CK Hockey Alumni Update

2005     Chad Langlais, University of Michigan, Rapaces GAP, France

2006     Casey Wellman, currently with SC Rapperswil-Jona Lakers in Switzerland, Moscow Spartak, KHL, University of Massachusetts-Amherst, Washington Capitals, NHL, Hershey Bears, AHL

2007     Andrew Miller, Yale University, currently with HC Fribourg-Gotteron of Switzerland, Edmonton Oilers, NHL, Bakersfield Condors AHL

2007     Dean Chelios, Michigan State University, Alaska Aces, ECHL, retired from hockey

2008     Jake Friedman, Penn State University, retired from hockey

2009     Matt Wahl, Brown University, Rapaces GAP, France, retired from hockey

2010     Patrick Brown, Boston College, Carolina Hurricanes, NHL, currently with Carolina Checkers, AHL

2011     Ryan Doucet, United States Air Force Academy, retired from hockey

2011     Brendan Kirk, Suffolk University, retired from hockey

2012     Cameron Heath, Canisius College

2012     Ethan Weiss, Wentworth Institute of Technology, ECAC

2012     Blake Manginell, Franklin Pierce University

2013     Jeff Martin, Tufts University, NESCAC

2013     Alex Alger, Miami University, NCHC

2013     Michael Romund, Milwaukee School of Engineering, NCHA

2013     Kevin Shand, Milwaukee School of Engineering, NCHA

2013     Billy Young, Endicot College, ECAC

2014     Christopher Brown, Boston College, 2014 NHL Entry Draft, 6th Round, Buffalo Sabres

2014     Sam Miletic, London Knights,OHL, Pittsburgh Penguins (NHL),  Wilkes-Barre (AHL)

2014     Noah Gilreath, Amherst College

2015     Austin Alger, Canisius College

2015     Sean O'Leary, New Hampshire Monarchs, EJHL, retired from hockey

2015     Cooper Stahl, Tufts University NESCAC


Ancient Alumnae

For a list of Cranbrook hockey alumnae from the 1940 era to the 1990 era click the link!