skip navigation

2023-24 Awards and Honors

By Craig Peterson, 03/20/24, 1:45PM EDT


Dream Team, All-State and Coaches of the Year

The 2023-24 season concluded on Saturday, March 9th with the crowning of Michigan high school hockey's newest state champions. Cranbrook became the first team since 2008 to enter the playoffs with a sub-.500 record and go on to win a state championship, doing so in the Division-III tournament.  Byron Center became the first West Michigan-based team to win a state championship since 2011, claiming the Division-II title. Detroit Catholic Central tied a state record, winning its fifth consecutive state championship, taking home the Division-I title.

In addition to championships, All-State honorees were announced as well. The complete list of names can be found HERE. The top vote getters during the All-State selection process were further named of the 2024 Michigan High School Hockey Coaches' Association (MHSHCA) Dream Team.  This year's honorees were:

Brighton senior forward Cam Duffany
Byron Center senior forward Jackson Froysland
Byron Center senior forward Cade Pratt
Detroit Catholic Central sophomore forward Brooks Rogowski
Detroit Catholic Central senior defenseman Joe Curtin
Houghton senior defenseman Connor Raffaelli
Byron Center senior goalie Brady Swanson

One of those seven players will be awarded the 2024 Mr. Hockey Award on Friday, March 22nd, to conclude this season's recognitions.